PDA

View Full Version : Yay! Just bought from hennasooq!

amberpotamus
October 14th, 2011, 10:32 PM
Must share my excitement over my purchase! :cheese: I've just bought my first BAQ henna! I used henna a lot as a teenager (well, health food store plant mix "hennas" like Light Mountain and Rainbow), and I loved what it did for my hair scalp, but I haven't done it in years. I have a chemical red dye in my hair, and being on this forum made me remember how much nicer henna can be (especially because I tend to have dandruff), so I decided to upgrade to some proper, strong henna. I order enough Rajasthani henna for several applications, and, to get to the $50 for free shipping since I was already spending so much anyway, I got some Amla powder and some Camellia oil since it was on sale. I'll probably use the Camellia oil for scalp massages, but I was wondering about the Amla, which I've never used (or smelled for that matter) before. I think the most common method (other than mixing into the henna to tone down the red, which I don't want) is to mix with water to make a paste and apply--but, if I remember correctly, Amla is quite acidic, so I was wondering if maybe I could dissolve a fairly small amount in water and use it as a rinse, in place of an ACV rinse. Might that work? I'll have to search the forum to see what others do with Amla...

Blond On Blond
October 14th, 2011, 11:44 PM
I order enough Rajasthani henna for several applications

I use Rajasthani from Henna Sooq - beware! ;) After 3 full applications my hair is a very deep, cool red, I guess I'll have to follow up with glosses and do roots only in order not to end up with purple. The current effect is fabulous however, both color and condition.

if I remember correctly, Amla is quite acidic, so I was wondering if maybe I could dissolve a fairly small amount in water and use it as a rinse, in place of an ACV rinse.