PDA

View Full Version : My first bun!

Cimorene
October 8th, 2011, 10:21 AM
Hooray! I successfully put my hair in a bun today! :D

I've never been able to figure out how to bun my hair and get it to stay. Partly because I have little to no manual dexterity, and partly because I have really slippy hair. It's a pain because my hair has been getting longer (right at mid-back now I think), and I've been getting bored with my go-to braid. And French twists just don't cut it anymore.

But today I was victorious! I watched the video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EoBA2OhZrcU) on Spidermom's bun and decided to try it, even though I've never been able to get hair sticks to stay in for more than 2 seconds. In the end I couldn't do the bun as instructed - my hair wasn't long enough to make 2 loops since I'm still growing out some layers at the end. BUT, I modified it by making one loop, which I then split in half, then worked in the hair stick, and voila! It worked!

Since it's my first attempt it looks pretty crappy, but it's up! And it's holding! AND the hair stick hasn't come rolling down my back yet! I'M SO HAPPY! :cheese:

I will post some pics as soon as I can convince my camera and computer to play nice.

SoetSout
October 8th, 2011, 10:29 AM
just to make you feel beter, i cant even braid my hair. I have always thought there was no reason for girls to take long with their hair.

now that i have gotten long hair myself i understand completely.

Yozhik
October 8th, 2011, 10:56 AM
Wonderful -- that's a great bun. :)

Congratulations. :flower:

Teamouse
October 8th, 2011, 11:24 AM
Yay! Congrats!
I am such a noob when it comes to doing my hair... Some things just look so complex I don't even try. I see all these beautiful updos in everyone's profile picture/sig and I think "Wow, that looks amazing" and my eyes just glaze over.

Personally I suck especially at braids.

I learnt how to french braid (badly) for the first time just the other day.