PDA

View Full Version : Hair advice for a complete newbie (+pictures)

theflummox
October 7th, 2011, 02:45 AM
(a tl;dr will be provided at the bottom for people who dislike idle chatter)

I come to you now, LHCers, for it is my time of need.

I discovered LHC three months ago. Up until then, my hair's life was torturous: I had never even considered "hair care". My has was always resilient, and aside from numerous split ends it always looked healthy; it was soft and shiny, maybe a bit frizzy but not dry. It was good, honest hair.
I've been chemically dying my hair since I was, say, 15 (I'm 20 now) and I've been flat ironing even before that. I flat ironed with a passion: see, when I started to pay attention to what my hair was like, back when I was 13, I was rewarded with a big frizzy, oily ball of... I dare not call it wavy hair, for my hair didn't fall in soft, beautiful waves but unruly bents!
So I began flat ironing it once, maybe twice per day for years. Then I decided that my natural mid brown hair was unbecoming of me, and that I desired dark, chocolatey shiny locks! In comes the hair dye.
I stopped flat ironing my hair daily about a year ago, but still did it occasionally. It has only been 6 months that I've completely stopped it, and 2 months that I've given up blowdrying as wall. I've decided to go completely heat free. I still dyed my hair, and I last dyed it at the beginning of September with an organic hair dye. I've decided to give this up as well and research henna and indigo instead.

In August, I started to CO my hair. I kept this up for 2 months and it wasn't half bad, but even though my hair was soft, it looked dull and flat. The softness wasn't any softer than how soft my hair had always been (it really is soft) (see if I can squeeze the word soft in here one more time :p), so I decided it wasn't worth it. I tried Ktani's Movie Star Shampoo method once three days ago and I loved it, so I might try going with that for a while and see what happens.