PDA

View Full Version : Headache free updos

hellopanpan
October 6th, 2011, 09:33 PM
I'm pretty new to LHC and to actually caring for my hair. I've been trying to wear it up but I'm stumbling across some problems. I have APL hair with some layers, and I've bunned and just figured out how to french braid, but buns give me headaches, and even pony tails sometimes. I just feel like my hair is weighing down and giving me a lot of tension. Do hair sticks solve this problem? Right now I'm just using scrunchies and regular rubber bands. Thank you :)

Juicematic
October 6th, 2011, 09:39 PM
It depends on how tightly you secure with the hair sticks. I usually don't have a problem but there are some days that no matter what I use I get headaches.

Yozhik
October 6th, 2011, 10:40 PM
Hi!

I'm surprised that scrunchies are making your head hurt, because usually they're one of the most comfortable ways to wear hair...

Have you tried distributing your updos more to lessen the weight in one area? Good updos for that are twin braids, double buns, buns made out of two braids, twin french braids...
Sticks could probably help distribute the weight, as long as you don't put them in too tightly.

Also, by rubber bands do you mean hair elastics, or do you mean rubber bands? Generally speaking, I wouldn't recommend using rubber bands in your hair, because they can lead to a lot of breakage. Some people do it, but most people try to use cloth-covered elastics that don't have metal or seams that can catch and snag on the hair. :)

Hope that helps! :flower:

ETA: I meant elastics that don't have metal, not elastics that don't have rubber bands! d'oh!

hellopanpan
October 6th, 2011, 10:50 PM
Hi!

I'm surprised that scrunchies are making your head hurt, because usually they're one of the most comfortable ways to wear hair...