PDA

View Full Version : Going purple?

Immera
October 2nd, 2011, 05:02 PM
I'm considering going purple around Halloween.

I have never used any dyes before, so I'm a complete noob.

I want it to be temporary (two to three weeks tops); over my medium to dark brown hair. I don't want it to be screaming purple, still have to look at least a bit professional.

Any insight?

I understand Manic Panic Cream might be the way to go, but I have also heard it could turn my tub and me purple as well.

I had a friend in high school who dyed her blonde hair green with koolaid? A couple of packets of grape is tempting, not to mention cheap. Any one have any experiences?

coneyisland
October 2nd, 2011, 05:07 PM
Manic Panic has a line of hair gel that is indicated to wash right out. Purple is among the colors offered.

http://www.manicpanic.com/dhgels.html

Cassie 123
October 2nd, 2011, 05:32 PM
Neither Manic Panic cream nor purple Kool-Aid will be very visible over dark virgin hair, in my experience. Bleach always removed it from my tub just fine; just watch that you don't splatter your walls. Coating your forehead and neck with a border of petroleum jelly, and wearing gloves, will keep it from staining your skin.

CurlyCap
October 2nd, 2011, 05:55 PM
Manic Panic works great on lighter hair. Dark Brown and black won't show colors well. You'll only get what looks like highlights in really bright sunshine.

I did use gloves to apply and used petroleum jelly on my forehead. I also rinsed out in my kitchen sink because it's stainless steel. I didn't want to worry about things not washing out.

If it's for Halloween and you have dark hair, I'd just get a spray. It'll show up better and be easier to get rid of. Manic Panic does come out in with 6 or 7 washes, which, for me, was almost a month!

Kristin
October 2nd, 2011, 06:04 PM