PDA

View Full Version : Where do I start to fix my hair?

raingirl
September 28th, 2011, 01:17 PM
Newbie here!! Still learning all the terminologies and reading lots of posts. Lots of awesome info here!

I want to make my hair better which is why I joined. I want to grow it out long and try and improbe the thickness/fullness if I can.

My hair isn't horrible so far. I've been growing it out for about a year now. I'm a 100% natural light light blonde. No colouring, no bleaching, nothing. I don't own a tape measure so I haven't measured my hair yet, but it's at the level of my bra strap approximately now.

Here are some of the problems I want to fix:

1) In the last 5 years the volume/thickness of my hair has gone way down. I'm noticing lots of thinning at my crown and forehead and when I pull it back, the pony tail is so thin (I would have to say 1/2 as thin as it was when I was in highschool at least).

2) I have insane oily skin/hair. I can't go a day without washing it. I recently switched to the OCM for my face and it's helped a little there (only been a week though). I've heard of castor oil for the hair as well? I wonder if it's the same as the face and it will help unclog pores therefore making hair grow back more?) What treatments can I use for oily hair? When I run out of my current shampoos/conditioners - recommendations for what to try next? I was thinking a natural SLS free shampoo?

Thanks!

raingirl
September 28th, 2011, 01:27 PM
Where is the edit button? Improbe?? LOL I meant improve!

BelleBot
September 28th, 2011, 01:40 PM
You could try CO (conditioner only) I found that helped with cutting down on the greasies, it took a week or so for my scalp to adjust but now I only need to wash twice a week. I do still use shampoo from time to time, but conditioning my scalp has made a huge difference.