PDA

View Full Version : Green hair from henna

Teamouse
September 28th, 2011, 01:50 AM
I'm really sorry if there is already a thread on this. I couldn't find anything specifically.
(Also I'm a newbie so I'll let that be my excuse :p)

I am curious about henna, but I don't just want to try a spur of the moment thing with my hair that I'll regret later (as I have in the past.)

A few months ago my hair was bleached and later died back to brown.
I regretted it. My hair was virgin before. Anything that can make my hair healthier is good. I use coconut oil which is fantastic. But I'll use all the help I can get.
Also wow, there are so many photos on here of head turning, beautiful, shiny henna hair. It would be nice to make other people drool for a change! (Vanity, I know. This is a forum about hair, what do you want from me?)

In the end though, I don't want green hair. Which I've heard can happen with bleached/coloured hair. Is it only the indigo that might make it green? Or can it go green with 100% henna?

Or is it better if I don't try it at all?... Just in case?
*fret* *worry* *drool* *worry*

Eolan
September 28th, 2011, 02:27 AM
Gather some shed hair from your brush or comb and make a strand test. It's the only way to know what colour you will get.

Welcome to the board, by the way! Hope you enjoy it.

celebriangel
September 28th, 2011, 02:34 AM
If you use pure, body art quality henna, there is no way your hair can turn green.

Green hair sometimes happens if you dye with henna *and* indigo (it's the indigo that does it) and then do some sort of chemical dye process. However, with only henna this won't happen.

Henna will go red or orange, depending on your hair colour to start with, and can be pushed more red or burgundy by doing repeat applications. What colour are you looking for, and what is your starting colour?

A final thing to note is that henna is completely forever, and the only way you'll get it out is by cutting it off.

Teamouse