PDA

View Full Version : Protein/Moisture Treatment

GabrielleRose
September 24th, 2011, 04:03 PM
Hello all!

I just got home from Sally's Beauty Supply and picked up 2 sample packages from Ion. One is called "Repair Solutions" and the other "Moisture Solutions".

I'm thinking of trying out the repair one since it has proteins in it, but I'm wondering should I follow it up the moisture one right after?

Any advice would be great since I've never tried a protein treatment before. ;)

Also, should I use a clarifying shampoo before the treatment?

jojo
September 24th, 2011, 04:47 PM
id definitely do a moisturizing treatment after, protein treatments can dry hair out.

GabrielleRose
September 24th, 2011, 04:55 PM
id definitely do a moisturizing treatment after, protein treatments can dry hair out.

Thank you so much! Should I wear the protein treatment longer than the moisture or vice verse?

Audrey Horne
September 24th, 2011, 05:20 PM
It depends on your hair and what it needs. I could do two protein bombs treatments atm and it wouldn't dry my hair out at this point. Too much moisture isn't good either.
There are some tests you can do to find out what is it that your hair (likely) craves. I think it is in Articles section. If I'm not mistaken then it goes like this: the individual hair is too stretchy = lack of proteins, hair snaps easily =lack of moisture.
If you end up going for proteins: oiling or conditioning your ends alone could help.

GabrielleRose
September 25th, 2011, 02:36 PM
It depends on your hair and what it needs. I could do two protein bombs treatments atm and it wouldn't dry my hair out at this point. Too much moisture isn't good either.
There are some tests you can do to find out what is it that your hair (likely) craves. I think it is in Articles section. If I'm not mistaken then it goes like this: the individual hair is too stretchy = lack of proteins, hair snaps easily =lack of moisture.