PDA

View Full Version : Newbie needs tips on how to avoid lopsided braids

Starlight1986
September 23rd, 2011, 10:48 AM
I'm really new to braiding my own hair. Have been trying since about three weeks. But everytime I want to have a single french or dutch braid, it's sooo lopsided and very mutch on the left instead of the center. Any tips how I can make it better? I don't even know what exactly I'm doing wrong. ^^

eshta
September 23rd, 2011, 10:56 AM
Are you bringing the braid over your shoulder to the front to braid the length? That can create lopsided braids for me, if I'm not careful with the tension. Maybe adjust the tension or try braiding with the braid brought forward over you head, that easier when you also lean forward. (I hope I explained that clearly).

ETA If you bring the braid over your shoulder do you switch braid direction from English to Dutch or from Dutch to English because if you don't it can create sort of a kink or bend.

Starlight1986
September 23rd, 2011, 11:05 AM
Yes, most of the times I bring it over the shoulder and then braid the length. But it seems that it's lopsided really from the beginning. I've tried looking in the mirror but I simply braid better without it.

Over my head? ^^ I'm not sure that I get what you mean. :D

Oh and I tried both with and without switching the direction but it doesn't make a huge difference for me.

Juneii
September 23rd, 2011, 11:13 AM
another member on here posted a tip a while ago. What she did was braid normally from the back until she couldn't reach much farther and then leaned forward so her head was down and flipped the braid over her head so it was in front of her face and continued braiding that way until the end. A perfectly even braid!

or what I do is just turn my head to the side as much as possible to my left shoulder and keep my hands over at my right shoulder to keep braiding.

Starlight1986
September 23rd, 2011, 11:15 AM