PDA

View Full Version : Temporary haircolor for theater - safe?

racrane
September 23rd, 2011, 07:41 AM
So, I'm a musical theater major. I was asked to temporarily dye my hair a "mousy brown" for an upcoming role. They gave me Wella Color Charm First Color Professional Temporary Haircolor in ebony brown. The director asked me to try it out tonight. I've never done this before so some girls said they would help me. Normally, I'd wear a wig but he'd prefer I'd have my natural hair because I'm playing a character that needs several hairdos. It really is easier that way. Nevertheless...

It does only wash out in 1-2 shampoos but I'm freaked out because, well, you all understand. Will it stain my blond hair? Will my hair get damaged from using it now until the start of November (the length of the run)?

I am put in an awkward position here. But I wanted to get your feedback first. Thank you everyone. :)

(If you want to know, I'm playing Cinderella in "Into the Woods". They are already so many blondes in the show including Rapunzel who has to have blonde hair. They would rather Cinderella be a brunette.)

BeckyAH
September 23rd, 2011, 07:44 AM
Given just how light your hair is? Yeah. Honestly, I'd worry about staining. Especially using it that often, for that long.

Vallena
September 23rd, 2011, 07:49 AM
I can't say for sure, but I would really worry about it staining your light hair. A wig might be harder to deal with, but if you could do that, it might be worth it, so you don't run the risk of staining your hair.

UltraBella
September 23rd, 2011, 07:51 AM
Is your hair virgin ? Has it ever been lightened, highlighted, or dyed ?

This product will likely stain your hair, especially if it's ever been processed and if you have to use it over and over until November. If your hair is virgin then you may be able to fully wash it out.

racrane
September 23rd, 2011, 08:53 AM