PDA

View Full Version : Is there a taboo about having long hair as you get older?

infinity_girl
September 15th, 2011, 10:29 AM
In the West, there seems to be a bit of a taboo about having/growing really long hair as you get older. Women seem to be expected to get their hair cut short as though once you hit a certain age you're not supposed to care about looking nice or doing things that make you feel good.

I really want to grow my hair very long (maybe to tailbone, not sure yet) and I am just starting out on my journey from APL hair. I am 36 and will be 37 in February. I know this is probably ludicrous but do any of you older ladies get comments about having long hair as you get older? I'm probably just being silly but I feel like the media and culture make it almost taboo to have long hair well into your 40s/50s/60s.

Personally I always think older women with long hair look very sexy and feminine and there is something slightly medieval/romantic about the look, especially older women with long white hair.

Signe
September 15th, 2011, 10:39 AM
Do whatever makes you happy. It may be taboo, but it is certainly not the kind of taboo that will generate too much drama. So ignore the negativity (if you get any), and do whatever you want with your hair.
Also, in my experience, the only place it could potentially be an actual problem is the workplace. Fortunately, with long hair, you can always just put it up in a professional/unassuming do, and it stops being an issue (unlike some other personal style choices, like neon hair or tattoos).

Madora
September 15th, 2011, 10:42 AM
Not so much a "taboo" as a "fashion" statement. Long hair on older women doesn't appeal to "those in the know" (what do they know?!).