PDA

View Full Version : How often do you REALLY need to trim your hair?

aminah
September 13th, 2011, 04:37 PM
Okay, so everyone here has probably heard from hair dressers, 'trim every 6-8weeks.' Of course, we also know that this is not necessarily true, esp. if you're trying to grow it long. I am still learning about better haircare, so I thought this was a good place to start.

I have been going to one stylist for several years, and trust her alot; mom goes to her, and I think she even cut my hair a few times in high school as well. When I told her about the new regime I adopted: seamless comb, shampoo bar, ACV rinse, and deep conditioning once a month she told me that I was doing what was best for my hair, and to keep it up. However, the only point we disagree on is trims, so I've been going every 3 months for trims. How often do you think is really necessary to get trims when you're trying to grow?

I comb everyday, and use a brush w/ wooden pins (Earth Therapeutics Paddle size brush) very gently w/ my hair; I have such thick hair that I can't really avoid the brushing. I only wash 1x-2x weekly, so I think I've been relatively gentle w/ my hair. I have a toddler to take care of all day, so I don't really have time or focus to search out all the splits at home. Any recommendations?

Thanks so much!
Aminah

longcurlygirl<3
September 13th, 2011, 04:39 PM
I should at least 6 months, but I do every one time a year :D

Maktub
September 13th, 2011, 04:45 PM
The decision is personnal. I like a small trimm more often (every couple weeks, to keep it fresh and prevent damage), rather than a bigger one 1-2 times a year. But that's just me :)

Mesmerise
September 13th, 2011, 04:52 PM
I think a small trim every three months is just fine! I'd go even longer if you don't have damage or splits. I usually just get my hair cut twice a year... but errm... since learning about self trimming I've cut it more frequently!!! (I do have taper to get rid of though...).