PDA

View Full Version : Cassia obovata n00b

amantha
September 13th, 2011, 12:22 AM
So tomorrow I'm going to use cassia obovata for the first time on my hair. My hair has been dry lately with lots of split ends/breakage and I'm hoping this well help make it healthier. Since I've never done this before, I was wondering if anyone had any tips? I bought a 500 gram bag....how much powder should I use to coat all of my hair? (my hair goes to the middle of my back...I'm guessing it's around 24" long). I was planning on making sure I shampoo/condition my hair in the morning but I'm not going to apply any styling products (I like to use silicones) and use a sulfate/silicone free shampoo and conditioner to wash it out at the end. Is this ok? Any other advice would be much appreciated. :) Thanks!

EmiliaF
September 13th, 2011, 03:53 AM
Hey :)

My hair is at 38'' right now and I always use 100g cassia with 350 ml (11,8 oz) hot water. Some people say you need much more for hair this length, but for me this is always enough.
I would also not use any product before the cassia treatment. :)

amantha
September 13th, 2011, 06:34 AM
Awesome! Thanks for the advice! :)

Audrey Horne
September 13th, 2011, 06:48 AM
I used 100g and no other products before applying cassia and nothing after, I just washed it off with water. Then applied a little of oil to my ends. Cassia can be drying though. I think you could mix the paste with a conditioner if your hair is very dry. Or use some conditioner on your length after getting rid of cassia. You could also oil your hair before a cassia treatment but then you might lose any golden hue, I think. You could also add a few drops of EVOO to your mix.

GRU
September 13th, 2011, 07:45 AM