PDA

View Full Version : Oily hair?

minaa
September 10th, 2011, 04:56 PM
Hi there everyone! I lurk on this forum a lot. My hair has grown out to SL recently, so I'm starting to come around again. I have two problems: I've started to use CWC as my 'poo routine again, and I notice that it leaves my hair somewhat oily (oilier than I'd think is good, anyway). I'm using Trader Joe's nourish spa balance moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. It doesn't contain SLS or ALS of either variety, and the conditioner is cone-free (I discovered cones weighed my hair down even more). Do you have any suggestions? I have done a lot of reading on this site, but I'm puzzled as to where to begin with my situation.

I also have recurrent dry scalp, which causes slight flaky issues. I may have to look into a different shampoo, regardless (have never been able to truly get rid of the dry-scalp-itchies, but I haven't tried any rinses either). I'm still quite new to taking care of my hair, so any advice is welcome.

sweet*things
September 10th, 2011, 05:18 PM
Is the oiliness concentrated on your roots, or all over? If it is primarily at the roots, you could try only putting conditioner on your ends and skip it above your ears on the second conditioning.

Good luck figuring it out!

BlazingHeart
September 10th, 2011, 05:28 PM
I can't help on the oily hair, but I do have two suggestions for rinses that can help quite a bit with the flaky-itchy scalp. I had it going for a while because I started reacting to SLS, and it took weeks to get it to go away after I stopped, but here's what worked for me: