PDA

View Full Version : Constant struggle!

shackleford
September 8th, 2011, 12:25 PM
Hello friends!
While this is my first time posting, I am not new to this site. In May, after years of bleach damage and flat ironing, a hairstylist in Paris ignored my pleas for a trim and cut my BSL, horribly layered hair to a few inches longer than SL, with the shortest layer starting at my eyebrows. I cried off and on for weeks. Even though a lot of damage was cut out, it felt so hideously short. In June, I realized that - get this - an upside-down V was cut into the back of my hair, such that the sides were TWO INCHES longer than the middle. I made the difficult decision to cut it all the same length myself, using a similar method to the self-trimming I learned about here on LHC, with my hair at about inch past collarbone.
Right now, in August, my shortest layer is at the bottom of my earlobe, with a few short pieces reaching the middle of my hair. When wet, from what I can see my hair is about two inches from being solidly APL, but when dry, it's more like three inches because I have very fine but curly/wurly hair.
I'm not looking for advice - I haven't heat-styled since the beginning of June, I damp-oil and damp-bun, braid at night with silk scarf over, have used MegaTek successfully. I am simply here to reach out to others who are not only in the no-man's-land between SL and APL (I frequent that thread as well), but who are also frustrated and struggling with length not being reflected in dry hair. I see little bits of broken hair on my shirts. Every step forward, I feel like I also take a step back. My roommate has gorgeous waist-length healthy hair, so I reminded constantly how short and weirdly layered my hair is in comparison. For someone that's had BSL+ hair my whole life, waiting for my hair to catch up feels like hell. Not to mention one side grows much faster than the other.