PDA

View Full Version : Yoghurt treatment - what is it supposed to do?

piratejenny
September 8th, 2011, 05:06 AM
Hi guys, first let me admit that I'm a newbie so I hope this question is not too silly..

Anyway, I've been trying to transition to WO for a couple of months and am looking for a way to enhance my natural color and cover some greys without interfering too much with my WO adventure. After reading around on LHC I came up with the plan of doing a henna gloss with yoghurt as a base (I'd rather avoid conditioner). After proudly announcing my plans on the Water Only thread some people warned me about yoghurt causing a vomit smell that's very hard to get rid of...

So, now I was wondering if this is an experience shared by more people and if there is anything you do about it which does not include shampoo...

Also, what do you do yoghurt treatments for anyway? (besides as a base for glosses :))

jasper
September 8th, 2011, 05:10 AM
I used yogurt and honey as a moisturizing hair cleanser once. My hair liked it a lot and was soft and smooth but I only did it because I had some greek yogurt leftover from a recipe. I don't know about long term repeated use.

Roscata
September 8th, 2011, 11:39 AM
I did a couple of yogurt treatments and the smell definitely lingered even if I COed after, which usually makes my hair smell really pretty. So I have no clue how to get rid of the smell.

Concerning what yogurt does, I read this article on NaturallyCurly.com:

"Did you know yogurt is very good for your hair and skin? For those of you of you who can not eat yogurt for whatever reason don’t go away just yet, you can also receive the benefits without consuming it!
BENEFITS OF YOGURT FOR HAIR!
• Great conditioner
• Cleanser
• Promotes Hair Growth
• Prevents Frizz
• Cures Itchy Scalp
• Cures Dandruff
BENEFITS OF YOGURT FOR SKIN!
• Diminishes pores
• Improves skin texture
• Exfoliates
• Can treat acne and scars if used regularly
• Reduces dark circles
• Removes blackheads