PDA

View Full Version : i'm an ACV newb!

Clem_Dela
September 3rd, 2011, 02:59 PM
hello!

So, for about 2 weeks I've been using a mixture of Dr Bronners, Lavender EO and water to 'poo my hair. I use some coconut oil on the ends.

I think it's been making my hair really healthy- this is my first time not using coney shampoos- but i've ended up with a weird, waxy, grainy residue; little white bits. and they're in my hairbrush too!

So I figured an ACV rinse might help.

i've never made one before now, though. My current mix is:

1 1/2 TBSP of Apple Cider Vinegar
1 cup of Purified Water
1/2 tsp of Cinnamon

(I am aware of the lightening effects of Cinnamon- i'm okay with this because i'm planning on henna-ing in a month or so, and lighter hair means brighter henna. :cheese:)

so what dilution do you guys use? should i change mine? because the bottle is only half full, so i could change the proportions if I need to.

gossamer
September 3rd, 2011, 03:12 PM
Sounds good to me!
I think I use about the same amount of vinegar, sometimes ACV, sometimes white. I just dilute it more because I'm not sure 1 cup of water would fully soak to my ends. My process is much less exact - I slosh about an inch of vinegar into the bottom of an old glass mason jar and then fill the rest with water.

Do the grains of cinnamon all rinse out for you, or do you still find them as you're brushing your hair out?

Clem_Dela
September 3rd, 2011, 03:47 PM
I have not tried this rinse yet, so I don't know.

I think i'm going to test it this evening.

I also think i'm going to add some drops of lavender;
I think in future mixes i'm going to use a mixer and blend some other ingredients; coconut oil, honey, and the cinnamon and ACV.

I love the way the cinnamon makes this smell, by the way! it's like apple pie :>

YepLilly
September 3rd, 2011, 03:51 PM
1 1/2 TBSP of Apple Cider Vinegar
1 cup of Purified Water