PDA

View Full Version : to henna or use indigo too?

bratz81
August 31st, 2011, 04:41 AM
Hi guys.
Newbie here so please excuse me if this is in the wrong place or anything.

At the moment I have naturally mid-brown hair (shoulder length ish, straight and just trimmed so not in bad condition). But part of my hair has been bleached and manic panic blue dye put over - this is mainly underneath but with the odd streak on top.

I want to get rid of the blue and get my hair back to brown. I'm not adverse to it being red - and in fact wanted it red at a later point so my main goal is really to get rid of the blue and get my hair one colour.

I don't want to bleach it again, or use chemical dye if I can help it, and someone told me to use an orange-based brown, or orange dye over it, and mentioned henna. This apparently tones the blue down to a brown.
But my question is: if I just use all henna all over, will this make the blue areas brown, and the rest of my hair reddish brown. Or should I mix henna and indigo and do everything brown? Will the henna and indigo cover the blue to a brown? Obviously I can adjust the levels to get a dark or mid or reddish brown...but I'm not sure whether to just henna or use indigo too :confused:

Has anyone put henna over blue hair, or have any insight?? I've melted my head trying to google things and am all confused now :o

Anje
August 31st, 2011, 06:36 AM
Honestly, henna only on an area that's bleached light will probably make orange. Henna on the blue might make brown, but only til the blue washes out.

You might be able to put one layer of henna over the blue stuff now, and when the blue comes out, do a henna + indigo mix to darken it to brown.