PDA

View Full Version : A one year update on my abused hair....

Dyefree
August 28th, 2011, 02:30 AM
I joined almost one year ago, and some of you may remember my first ever post......

http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=58744

My hair was fried. And I mean fried, triple bleached, box dyed, flat ironed to within an inch of it's life and I had been wearing extensions continuously for 5 years. It was so so damaged, when I went to the hairdressers in oct '10 thet gasped at how bad my hair was.... They'd never seen anything like it. :(

It was orange, frizzy, breaking off at different lengths. I hadn't seen my natural hair colour or texture for over 15 years. The cut in oct '10 put me at chin length.... But my hair was still thin and breaking. I tried deep treatments, oiling, I stopped all dying and no heat styling.

Fast forward to august '11; I have around 5 inches of natural, untreated, undyed virgin hair. It's a soft black, fine-medium texture, shiny, healthy and lots of it! :D

But it made my frizzy, broken, orange, thin ends look terrible.... Forget split ends and White dots.... This is seriously damaged gummy hair that would break off if you looked at it funny. :o

So back to the salon I went.

The new hairstylist again gasped in horror :o she'd never seen two different types of hair on one head... The roots a healthy shiny shock of black hair, and the ends so fried and damaged.

So out came the scissors and another 6-7 inches chopped off.

I now have chin length mostly virgin hair (I still have some orange colour at the front on the longer pieces, around 1-2 inches). Yes it's thick and soft and the texture gorgeous.... It falls into waves with no frizz.