PDA

View Full Version : How to know if you are over moisturizing

stacyyyy1972
August 27th, 2011, 02:27 PM
Hi all, im fairly new to LHC and I seen somewhere that you can over moisturize your hair. I Did not know this and seeing as I have started smt and oiling I was wondering if any one can tell me how I will know this. Any feed back would be appreciated :)

RainbowHawk
August 27th, 2011, 02:38 PM
I just learned about this too, and immediately recognized my hair as being perpetually over moisturized. Who knew? :o

Here's an article describing how you can tell whether your hair needs moisture or protein: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/278612/the_fine_art_of_protein_and_moisture.html?cat=69

And here's another about maintaining the balance: http://pittsburghcurly.wordpress.com/2009/06/28/protein-vs-moisture/

gthlvrmx
August 27th, 2011, 02:39 PM
Your hair will be too stretchy, maybe "too soft", unmanageable,maybe mushy, limp, and the ends will lose that structure it needs to stay together. Instead, it will bend (especially at the ends) like hooks in updo's and then cause tangles and more breakage. I just had this overmoisturized problem last week and it was awful, it felt "limp". Clarifying and getting just protein back into your hair helps. Personally i just dunk in with a protein treatment from Sally's that has no cones at all(my hair doesn't like them) or use Mane n Tail originial conditioner as a protein treatment.

http://www.sistersofthefaith.com/beauty/the-fine-art-of-protein-and-moisture-balancing-for-black-hair-care-pt-2/

excentricat
August 27th, 2011, 02:41 PM
The most obvious sign is going to be stretchy or gummy hair. My understanding is that over-moisturizing usually goes with under proteining so the balance of the two that your hair likes will keep it happiest.

stacyyyy1972
August 28th, 2011, 12:49 AM