PDA

View Full Version : Almost at classic and I'm so tempted to cut

Mama D
June 28th, 2008, 08:47 PM
I've been growing my hair out for like six years now, the first few just because I didn't know what else to do with it, and the last year and a half on purpose. My initial goal was tailbone length hair and after I got there, I didn't really know what to do next so I just let it keep going. Now my hair is almost at classic length (maybe an inch away?) but I'm soooo tempted to cut it.

Why? Well I just feel like there's no point in having long gorgeous hair if no one ever sees it. :) And at this length it's such a hassle to wear down. If I stand with my hands at my side, my hair halfway covers my hands, which of course means that if I'm leaning forward to pick something up--like one of my two small children, for instance, or to help myself to food at a buffet-style meal--there's my hair, getting in the way of my hands (and when there's food in the picture, this can get kind of gross). So my hair is up allllll the time. In the same old inside-out bun with a knitting needle stuck through it (the double pointed kind, bent in half to make a fork).

Then there's also the fact that I just like the proportions of tailbone-length hair.

So I kind of want to cut it back to tailbone, which would be above my wrists and not quite so in-the-way, but part of me thinks I'll regret it. I like being different, in the sense that I don't want to be, oh, ordinary, or mainstream. And classic length hair is even less ordinary than tailbone length hair (though tailbone is still pretty unusual, I guess). And my hair is really still in good condition all the way down to the ends--shiny and smooth. *sigh* I dunno. Any input?

I would post pics to help you help me decide, but I don't have a camera on hand--sorry. :)