PDA

View Full Version : Help with Henna!!!!!

pes3108
August 26th, 2011, 08:36 PM
I am new to the whole henna scene, where can I buy it and how do I go about using it? I started dying my naturally light brown hair with boxed red dyes about 2 years ago. In the past year, my naturally curly hair is become a lot frizzier and thinner and I think (know!!!) it is because of the boxed dyes. I haven't used a permanent dye in months, but have been trying to maintain my color and keep my roots from becoming too obvious by the occasional semi permanent color. I am really interested in henna after reading about it on here but have no clue where I can get it, how the colors work, and what to do with it. Please help!!!

SilverMcFly17
August 26th, 2011, 08:52 PM
Oh I have so many questions about henna too! I'll be watching this thread intently. I would have to post a pic or 2 to have someone tell me what I need and where. But I'm going to piggyback the knowledge from here. :D

Auburn_locks
August 27th, 2011, 07:33 AM
There is absolutely loads of info about henna in the 'Recipes, Henna and Herbal Haircare' area of the forums. I suggest you check it out for answers to every question you could ever think of!

I'm actually very similar to you - been dying mine box dye red for about 4 years but noticing some major damage now. Some of the main, basic things that I've learnt about henna over the last few months is that:

1. Henna is PERMINANT as in you will likely have to grow it out and cut it off if you decide you want a change. Some people have had success with bleach, but if you're not sure you want to be a redhead for quite a while then you might as well stick with semi-perminants, perminants or vegetable dyes like manic panic.