PDA

View Full Version : Baking soda and ACV

Bambi
August 22nd, 2011, 02:35 PM
Hello everybody! Hope you are all doing well!

I have been doing CO( with ACV) for 2 months now and like it but my hair can get too oily at occasions( I wash 1 a week). So I did some reading and found out about the use of baking soda in hair, and that it was good to combine with ACV. Today I tried it and I must say that I am impressed, it worked well with my hair:). My question is if you can use it w/o the ACV or is it a necessity considering the fact that you have to close the cuticles and balance PH? I am not really sure how my hair like ACV as I don't notice a difference(from Poo and conditioner) after 2 month of use, maybe I am just being impatience...:cool:

Thank you so much for your time, I appreciate your advice highly!

Turtle
August 22nd, 2011, 09:24 PM
I've used just baking soda before, with and without ACV. When I first started using it, I had switched directly from using Suave shampoo and conditioner to using baking soda only. My hair went through a LONG transition period. For around a month, it was really greasy and coarse feeling most of the time and difficult to style. I would also get gooey white build-up on my comb and hairbrush. I only used baking soda with apple cider vinegar for a little, but it did seem to balance out my hair a bit more. ACV does a very good job of normalizing my hair, no matter what other treatments I'm using.

Just my personal experiences. Hope it helps. (:

jeanniet
August 22nd, 2011, 09:42 PM
You need to follow baking soda with something acidic. If you don't like the vinegar, you could try a citric acid rinse.

Bambi
August 23rd, 2011, 04:38 AM
Thank you so much for your replies!
Can I use a lemon juice and water mixture, would that work? My hair feels very soft and falls very niecely today:)

Sundial
August 23rd, 2011, 04:40 AM
Yes you can use a mixture of lemon juice and water as an alternative :)

Turtle
August 23rd, 2011, 10:53 AM