PDA

View Full Version : Scissor irrationality. Am I the only one??

Calaelen
August 17th, 2011, 12:04 PM
Hi All!

I just wanted to bring up a topic I sometimes struggle with..and I wonder, am I the only one?

Some background. I am a stylist, not currently working in the field, but I do hair for all my family and friends, still. Now the weird part. Every time I pick up a pair of scissors, whether it is to give a haircut, or to do some household task, I get this irrational fear that I am just going to hack off my own hair. It's like a visual thing, I see myself doing it, then I sort of panic, fearing one day this impulse will come true.

Recently I've also been having many dreams where I have cut my hair all off, and the most recent one was one of those never ending dream, it spanned a period of weeks, and finally in the dream I was convinced that it wasn't a dream(the rest of the dream was spent feeling sickening shock, and grief, for the loss of my length, and that I'd actually hacked off all my hair...usually I find myself begging in the dream please just let it be a dream, or knowing for sure that it is a dream..

So how about it, anyone else??

Any other hair anxieties, or impulsive thoughts leading to fear??

bunzfan
August 17th, 2011, 12:10 PM
I have exactly the same fear and i used to cut hair to. When ever i trim family or friends hair i worry about this to i wonder what it means?

Gypsygirl
August 17th, 2011, 12:13 PM
Do you know Bella Online? Here you go, one of their articles I have bookmarked on here because yes...I do dream about my hair sometimes. My dreams are never about losing my hair in any way, though. http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art10574.asp

spidermom
August 17th, 2011, 12:17 PM
My irrational fear is about heights. I get these thoughts that I'm going to pitch myself over the edge.

monsterna
August 17th, 2011, 12:20 PM