PDA

View Full Version : 1st protein treatment and... breaking/shedding stops?!

YepLilly
August 17th, 2011, 11:08 AM
I'm still new to the hair world, but after doing some research I decided that my hair was in need of protein. I didn't get to do the strand test recommended here, but my hair fits the pattern. It's weak, fine, fluffy, soft, frizzy, limp. Ends are very fine and soft (not velcro-like, as when it has excess protein). Also, for a very long time my hair has been thinning out and breaking/shedding. It's nothing excessive, and blood tests came back ok, but definitely something I wanted to stop. I didn't know why that was happening, I don't dye or perm my hair, and don't abuse heat-styling techniques.

So I decided to do a protein treatment (my first one ever). I saw that the Nexxus Emergencee has very good reviews so I bought it. I applied it two days ago. They said it's expected to make your hair straw-like after applying, but to not worry as that will change once you shampoo/condition. Well, mine didn't feel straw-like at all, I thought it wasn't working (later I found out it was indeed working, my hair just needs tons of protein right now). So I shampooed and applied a good deep conditioner as suggested (Aussie 3MM). I let it air-dry.

Once dried, I ran my fingers through it several times. I couldn't believe there were almost no hairs falling off. When I do this, I always end with a few hairs in my hands. After waking up, almost zero hairs on the pillow. Impressive!

:cheese::cheese::cheese:

The instructions say to do this every 2 weeks, but given the condition of my hair, I think I'll do it every week. I really hope this keeps working! What do you think? Do I make sense with my protein analysis? :p I also plan to add other changes to my routine: CWC, pre-wash with cononut oil (lenght) and castor oil / grapeseed oil (scalp), try no sulfates, etc. Baby steps!

swearnsue
August 17th, 2011, 11:22 AM