PDA

View Full Version : Shampoo allergy?

Kelikea
August 12th, 2011, 07:29 PM
I'm not sure if I'm actually allergic to shampoo or something in it, but every time I use shampoo, my head gets itchy and my skin flakes off like crazy. I tired CO but it made my scalp so gunky. I have been using BS and ACV rinse for about 2 months, but now my hair seems dry. I tolerate Desert Essence Organic Coconut shampoo and conditioner ok if used less than once a week, and it is very moisturizing. Any suggestions for keeping my scalp and hair happy, at the same time?

DoubleCrowned
August 12th, 2011, 08:40 PM
You may be sensitive to ingredients in shampoo. Fragrance, for example, frequently causes problems, so you should not use shampoo that lists "fragrance" as an ingredient, even if the bottle has the word "natural" on it. Aubrey Organics is a brand that might be safe for you.

Here is a LHC thread that Might help you. It deals with sensitivity to chemicals: http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=70112

Some people who get skin problems from shampoo are happy with the water only cleansing method:
http://forums.longhaircommunity.com/showthread.php?t=3412

Another thought is to try cleaning your hair with eggs or herbs.

Copasetic
August 12th, 2011, 09:23 PM
I'm not sure if I'm actually allergic to shampoo or something in it, but every time I use shampoo, my head gets itchy and my skin flakes off like crazy. I tired CO but it made my scalp so gunky. I have been using BS and ACV rinse for about 2 months, but now my hair seems dry. I tolerate Desert Essence Organic Coconut shampoo and conditioner ok if used less than once a week, and it is very moisturizing. Any suggestions for keeping my scalp and hair happy, at the same time?

Do any other products give you this kind of reaction? If you can think of all the ones that bother you, you might be able to find a common denominator.

gretchen_hair
August 12th, 2011, 09:45 PM