PDA

View Full Version : What's the best way to lighten/add a bit of colour to dull blonde hair

Revontuletar
August 10th, 2011, 01:01 AM
Ok, so I'm a bit of a newbie here and have heard people talk about honey and lemon juice lightening your hair. How true is this, and are there any other methods or special recipes to do this? I am growing out hair dye and have a few inches of dull blonde regrowth that I really don't like, and I am looking for a natural and non-damaging way to help it blend in more with the chemical-blonde colour, or at least make it look a little more lively. Any help or pointing in the right direction would be greatly appreciated :)

christine1989
August 10th, 2011, 02:02 AM
I've seen great honey lightening results from people here. You also might want to give cassia (neutral henna) a try. It deposits a yellow/blonde dye that could make your darker roots a truer blonde. I also (accidentally) discovered the lightening properties of lemon juice + sunshine. I have dark hair so it was quite unwanted but I don't see why it wouldn't make you blonder. :)

Rosetta
August 10th, 2011, 03:47 AM
You probably already know this, but chamomile is often used to brighten blonde hair; like in chamomile rinses, where you use strong brew of chamomile tea as a final rinse after washing, but you'd need to do this several times (i.e. after several washes) to see any effects, I think.

(Although, darker blonde doesn't have to mean "dull" blonde :))

Revontuletar
August 18th, 2011, 05:38 AM
(Although, darker blonde doesn't have to mean "dull" blonde :))