PDA

View Full Version : Will this work as a deep moisture treatment?

monsterna
August 4th, 2011, 05:56 PM
Tomorrow I want to try an SMT, but tonight I don't have the time. So I wanted to do something before I shower. I was thinking of just warming up some olive oil and honey and putting it on damp hair and then rinsing it about an hour later. Would that be a good combo? I am new to hair recipes. :)

Joribear
August 4th, 2011, 06:29 PM
Tomorrow I want to try an SMT, but tonight I don't have the time. So I wanted to do something before I shower. I was thinking of just warming up some olive oil and honey and putting it on damp hair and then rinsing it about an hour later. Would that be a good combo? I am new to hair recipes. :)

That is a great deep moisture treatment! I try to do a honey & EVOO "mask" every other week.

BlazingHeart
August 4th, 2011, 06:40 PM
If where you live is arid (dry), it would probably be better to skip the honey. Honey is a humectant, so it transfers moisture from more moist places to less moist ones. That's why it works well in humid areas - it pulls moisture out of the air and into your hair. If the air is dry, it works the other way around and will dry out your hair. I don't know what percentage of humidity is needed to be good for you, though.

~Blaze

silverjen
August 4th, 2011, 06:44 PM
Keep in mind that EVOO won't rinse out with just water. You'll have to shampoo it out. But if you wanted to leave it in overnight, that works well for a lot of people. Just spread a towel over your pillow and sleep normally.

Joribear
August 4th, 2011, 06:47 PM