PDA

View Full Version : Buns for Nubs

Yame
July 29th, 2011, 04:54 PM
As a bun newbie, I need a list of simple and easy buns I can learn, for wearing in my everyday life.

My hair is currently between waist and hip length, so I am sure there are tons of styles I could do to it. Up until 2 weeks ago I had never put it up in a "real" bun (sometimes I would roll it up or fold it and tie it with a hair elastic, but that doesn't really count).

Right now, I am looking for buns that can be held with a stick, since sticks are the only hair toys I currently have. In the future, I am planning on getting a Flexi-8, but I'd like to become more proficient in handling my own hair first. Plus, I'm really liking my sticks, and I still can't get over the "magical" feeling of having all of my hair held up by something so... counter-intuitive and simple.

So far I've been using a nautilus bun. I learned it by watching various youtube tutorials. Now that I feel pretty comfortable with it, I want to move on to other buns, but I don't feel ready for anything too complicated yet. I've tried some other buns I found on youtube tutorials and failed massively, so I figured I should ask here for some advice on what buns us newbies should be trying.

archel
July 29th, 2011, 05:21 PM
Back when my hair was waist length, I learned how to do a figure 8 bun on youtube and it looked really neat! Maybe you can try that? I can't do a real bun yet, since I'm barely APL right now. I hope to be able to by the end of the year.

Yame
July 29th, 2011, 06:25 PM
I'll give that a shot!

mathnerd
July 29th, 2011, 07:21 PM
Yame, I'm in the same boat as you. I've been trying to learn some new buns from youtube as well. However, no matter which I try, they all seem to fail. :( Will have to keep practicing I guess...lol

Lostsoule77
July 29th, 2011, 07:43 PM