PDA

View Full Version : Moved states, now my hair hates me. Help?

Cainwen
July 20th, 2011, 08:52 AM
Hi all! I'm new to LHC, though I have been lurking a while and despite all my lurking, I don't seem to be able to find a thread that answers my questions, so here goes. Sorry if I am accidentally duplicating.

I've been growing my hair out for 4 years, and have on the whole been kind to it. I almost never use heat on it (my wedding last month was an exception :D), I found shampoo and conditioner that made it soft and silky, as it got longer I added some leave in conditioner and added extra strengther to the length/ends. I'd been using the same routine for about a year when I moved. About a week after living in my new local, I noticed my hair was getting duller in appearance, and felt dryer. The only things that have changed are the ambient temp (near 100s instead of 80s, but I'm inside AC almost all day), tons more sunshine, and the mineral content of the water. I tried switching to a CWC routine, which helped a little with the dryness, but not nearly enough to solve the problem.

Has anyone encountered this before? I really want my hair to get back to being nice and healthy, but I'm at a loss what to do. Thank you for any advice you can give!

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-12LBfM67-Pk/TibrIE4-kDI/AAAAAAAABYg/E_hvGwZul4Y/s144/IMG_1735.JPG

ElusiveMuse
July 20th, 2011, 08:53 AM
Apple cider vinegar rinse for your hard water, and oiling for your dryness.

Aerin
July 20th, 2011, 09:04 AM
I've moved a lot growing up, and my hair care routine totally changes depending on the humidity and temperature and stuff. I just end up experimenting for a while to find out what works again. Sorry, not much help otherwise.

Anje
July 20th, 2011, 09:30 AM
Almost certainly blame the water. It's probably harder than at your old location. Diluted vinegar rinses are good for dealing with that, as are water softeners and shower filters.