PDA

View Full Version : Disadvantages of dry shampoo

goldenbrunette
July 18th, 2011, 03:11 PM
Hello!

In the past 2 years+ I have become quite the advocate for use of dry shampoo but now would really like to wean myself off of it. Something about the quick results and the way I ruffle it into my hair have, I think, contributed to me handling my hair in a somewhat more scruffy and quick manner.

I feel that, like many a-thing, I have become accustomed to using dry shampoo and it has turned into a habit. Thus, my hair gets greasier more quickly/become dependent on usage and I develop more of a build-up. It may or may not have contributed to spots around my hairline also. I would really appreciate any opinions on why NOT to use dry shampoo. I understand that many people find it fabulous but, if anything, it is another unneccessary (that spelt right?) product that I'm wasting money on..

Madora
July 18th, 2011, 03:16 PM
I've had no experience with dry shampoo but would imagine that using a gentler shampoo would be kinder to your strands.

Your hair may be "dead" but it still needs to be babied and handled with TLC.

Roseate
July 18th, 2011, 03:20 PM
Wait, is dry shampoo your only cleaning method? That's not good. Dry shampoos are intended to be an in-between-washes kind of thing, just to refresh your hair and soak up a little oil.

Once in a while is no problem, but putting that kind of dry powder on your hair without eventually washing it out and giving your hair some moisture is not going to be good news.

aliceinmadness
July 18th, 2011, 03:22 PM