PDA

View Full Version : Color Pencils as Hairsticks: Is it harmful?

chahuahuas
July 13th, 2011, 08:36 PM
I don't own any hairsticks, and as a student, I would usually just grab a pen or pencil if I needed to toss my hair up in a pinch. Now that I've joined LHC and I've been seeing all the pretty buns, I've been inspired to play around with nicer buns. I still don't have hairsticks though, so I've just been grabbing colored pencils off a cup on my desk and putting a couple of those in.

I really like using colored pencils, since they're cheap and I already have every color on hand, but I'm not sure what damage they might cause. Do you LHCers think they're damaging to my hair? Are they more or less damaging than the pony I put them in?

QueenJoey
July 13th, 2011, 08:41 PM
Hmm, I don't know. Maybe I should find out, because I put my hair up with pencils, too. Colored pencils? That sounds so fun looking!

Honestwitness
July 13th, 2011, 08:43 PM
I like being able to grab a pencil, too, because they're usually so handy. However, I can usually feel a bit of drag when I push the point into my bun. I believe it's from the tiny gap between the harder wood and the softer lead. For my easily damaged, fine hair, I have concluded that is not a good thing. I really prefer double-pointed knitting needles, because they are so smooth. They are a bit more expensive than pencils, but they do come in some nice colors.

QueenJoey
July 13th, 2011, 08:48 PM
Ooh, I do know what you mean by the drag. And then when you take out the pencil, some strands get caught. (shudder)

I just like using them because I think they make me look kinda studious, and there's never a shortage of them.

C.H.
July 13th, 2011, 09:01 PM
Funny you should mention this. I have been meaning to get out my colored pencils and put them in my hair to get some ideas on what colors look best in my hair. Thanks for the reminder!

kahill
July 13th, 2011, 09:26 PM