PDA

View Full Version : Henna, Amla & Indigo gloss: Does anyone have a yummy recipe :)

Nightdragon
July 8th, 2011, 11:01 AM
I have been trying to craft a first time gloss recipe together. I ordered some Rajasthani henna, Yemen henna, cassia, amla and indigo online and they are en route (yay!!) But I don't have a solid recipe as of yet.

I found out that cassia is a no go for people that used color oops (thank you to this forum for saving me the black streaking mess!!) So I can't use that in my gloss mix :(

My hair is a chemical dyed medium/dark blonde color right now. My natural color is a medium brownish color.

As I have never done henna before, I thought a gloss would be a good place to start as I really want a little color and root covereage but not alot of the henna extreme red. I want a browner result over all, but not dark, so I wasn't going to overdo it on the indigo and henna. But I don't know what I'm doing and need help!

Does anyone know what preportions should be used in a gloss like this?? What sort of conditioner has worked well for glossing?? I live in a small town and don't have easy access to much of the conditioner that I have read other forum people have used in glosses. Thanks guys!! :D

Nightdragon
July 10th, 2011, 10:29 AM
Oh!! And how much conditioner should be used in preportion to the powders. And what to use for dye release? Lemon juice doesn"t like my hair very much

MauiAngel
July 11th, 2011, 10:39 PM
Hi, I've been hennaing for a few years now. I've also hendigo'd hoping to a rich brown and it came our purply black. So I don't have a good recipe for you, but I suggest that you take a look on the hennaforhair forum through mehandi.com. I'm sure someone over there can suggest something for you :)

pink.sara
July 12th, 2011, 08:11 AM
I found out that cassia is a no go for people that used color oops (thank you to this forum for saving me the black streaking mess!!) So I can't use that in my gloss mix :(
:D