PDA

View Full Version : Any success adding inches to ponytail circumference?

alyanna
July 7th, 2011, 03:17 AM
I'm really curious, especially as far as those of us with thinner hair are concerned. Has anyone successfully thickened up their hair through natural or prescription medicines/supplements?

I am wondering if there really is a solution to thinning hair.

I've been using minoxidil 2% for 4 months now and I just had a dermatologist visit at which we decided I have made no progress at all. The derm is not for using minoxidil in the first place but she said I could try the 5% solution. I think I won't. I want to try more natural methods.

Since being on LHC (also 4 months), my hair is healthier, shinier, longer (yay!) and feels fuller. I think my ponytail circumference has increased, but it's mostly due to layers growing out and joining the rest of the hair.

So has anyone been able to increase their ponytail size significantly and what methods were you using?

(note: I'm talking about a routine that thickens hair, not lengthens it, as I believe some methods will make hair grow longer faster, but you won't be getting any more hair)

LunaMoon
July 7th, 2011, 04:32 AM
Yes, for my hair, light protein tratments every week works great. Other days I moisture very well and I don't use shampoo, just CO.
I never tried protein in my hair before LHC. It is very difficult to find CO or protucts with protein around here.
Now I am ordering online Aphogee 2 minutes keratin recontructor and I am impressed with the results.:cheese:

About adding inches to my ponytail: I can't say I have increased some "inches", but 1 cm (half inch?) for sure.

CarpeDM
July 7th, 2011, 05:32 AM
I didn't have much luck with Rogaine myself, it irritated my scalp and seemed to make more hair fall out :( But since I've been focusing on my hair more within the last year I've gained some thickness, about a half inch in my ponytail circumference through more natural methods.

Such as: