PDA

View Full Version : Wash Less, Grow Less?

AshNight1214
July 4th, 2011, 01:07 PM
Hi. So, I'm in a bit of a huff at the moment. I've gotten down to washing about every third day in the past month, but my hair has gone from growing 1 inch per month to 1/2 inch per month! :mad:

I use mix of shampoo and sugar for my CWC (something I've been doing for about three months now). Would the less frequent exfoliation have anything to do with my stunted growth? :confused:

Eire
July 4th, 2011, 01:26 PM
I wash every day and my hair seems to grow really fast... I don't know if washing hair often makes it grow fast, or fast-growing hair needs to be washed more often. Or maybe there's no relationship between the two.

It could also have to do with the more frequent scalp massages associated with more frequent washing. More stimulation -> more blood flow -> more nutrients to follicles.

Copasetic
July 4th, 2011, 01:29 PM
I don't know if how often you wash your hair affects your growth rate, but the rate you are growing now is totally normal. You went from incredibly fast, to average, which isn't anything to worry about.

*Rose Red*
July 4th, 2011, 01:30 PM
I think it has nothing to do with shampoo, but maybe with the scalp massage during the hair wash? like Eire wrote: hair wash -> scalp massage -> more blood flow -> more growth
but I´m not sure :)

jojo
July 4th, 2011, 01:38 PM
I don't think the frequency of washing has any affect on how quick your hair grows; its down to genes. Sure washing stimulates the scalp but it also weakens the hair shaft.

I have some months where I get an inch and other months where I get only 1/4" but on a yearly basis I still get the average 6".

spidermom
July 4th, 2011, 01:54 PM
In my experience, growth rate is not steady. I've grown 1-1/4 inch in 3 weeks and less than 1/4 inch in a month without changing a thing. It averages out to 0.67 inch per month. So I think this is what you're seeing -- your growth rate is not the same every month.

Alaia