PDA

View Full Version : Need of Tips

wildedove
July 2nd, 2011, 08:59 PM
I'm a newbie in need of tips. What are the best ways in keeping hair nice and healthy from the scorching sun? I live in the central valley and it's blazing hot!

kitten1986
July 2nd, 2011, 09:08 PM
a hat?
orr i think there are hair sunscreen products too but I dont know much about them :D haha

feralnature
July 2nd, 2011, 09:14 PM
Hi! I live in central Texas and have to protect my hair, head and face from the sun too. I have a collection of cute hats...a beat up cowboy hat, a sombrero, a straw town hat, a sunbonnet. I am looking at the Tilley website for a new traveling hat: http://www.tilley.com/Hats.aspx

There is also a silk infinity scarf made for the sun that I have my eye on, UPF 50!: http://www.coolibar.com/07508.html

Madora
July 2nd, 2011, 09:14 PM
Oh, boy, you have my deepest sympathy! I've been in that area and its like Hell's anteroom..as far as the heat is concerned!

To protect your scalp and hair from the sun, wear a white scarf or white straw hat.

While the color will not deflect all the harmful rays associated with sunlight, it WILL protect your scalp and hair and help deflect some of the heat.

Also, if possible, wear your hair up to protect the ends, and moisturize those delicate ends with a little bit of coconut oil, or the oil of your choice.

To keep your hair in tip top shape, detangle with a wide tooth comb before brushing. Brush with a pure boar bristle brush. The benefits of brushing with a bbb are many: brushing removes the grit and lint from your scalp and strands, it exercises your hair follicles, it distributes the natural sebum down your hair strands, and over time, gives a wonderful shine and softness to your hair.

Brush gently and slowly, and always remember to detangle FIRST. There is a proper way to brush, and your hair will thank you if you take pains to care for it gently.