PDA

View Full Version : My dry patches are back :-(

Gilly
July 2nd, 2011, 12:42 AM
Yep, I noticed today that I have got several nasty dry patches on my scalp and when I ran my fingers over them they broke up into lots of flakes which then spread themselves through my hair :rolleyes: I have been using shampoo bars for a good 2 months and following with a conditioner that had citric acid as an ingredient, my hair was feeling great, my scalp was not itchy so I just carried on. I am now thinking that I need to rethink things, I don't want to use a scrub on my hair as its already very fine and rolls over and breaks if I threaten it with anything more that a wide tooth shower comb:rolleyes:.
I don't like SLS as it irritates me hence the move to shampoo bars, but now I don't know what to do, I need some suggestions please, I am also in Australia so we don't have Walmart or Sallys here.
:confused:

Chiara
July 2nd, 2011, 04:20 AM
Hi Gilly,
Have you tried this? http://www.moogoo.com.au/scalp-friendly-shampoo.html
I've got some, but haven't tried it yet (washday is tomorrow!).

I find that my scalp is always flakier in winter, due to the drier air. Also, given that your regime was working OK, have you changed anything in your diet, or had a bit more stress lately? These are all things that I find can bring on an attack of the killer flakes! Too much sugar, milk, refined carbohydrates are all triggers for me (I think it's something to do with the glycemic index of these foods, maybe...)

Gilly
July 2nd, 2011, 04:26 AM
Hi, Yep I have tried MooGoo, it did nothing really for me:(

Chiara
July 2nd, 2011, 04:31 AM
What a pain!
One other thing, have you been checked for psoriasis and all those kinds of things? Sorry if I'm suggesting the obvious, but I had a friend who had this problem, of recurrent flaking in defined patches, tried all sorts of things, and it turned out to be psoriasis (which responded to a UV lamp!).

Gilly
July 2nd, 2011, 04:39 AM