PDA

View Full Version : Bobby pins, Amish pins, Other pins?

Rosake
June 28th, 2011, 08:32 PM
Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie with a question. I recently found this very pretty up-do that involves a bun made out of rope braids. However, when I put bobby pins in to hold it, it simply falls out after an hour. Is there some secret of how to use bobby pins that I don't know about? Or are mine just simply bad quality, or are rope braids too stubborn for bobby pins? I just never seem to be able to hide them nicely and be able to hold my up-do.

I also heard about amish pins, and I was wondering if any of you use those, how, and for which up-do's. It's interesting that I've never seen those in a normal shop before, then again there seemed to be no existing shop that sells good hair accessories :p
Are there maybe other pins that you love to use?

My hair is a little over BSL and not super thick.

Any tips/advice? :D

squintinschool
June 28th, 2011, 08:43 PM
For me, bobby pins are only useful in holding up a Medusa bun, and even then it takes an army. When I'm doing most of my buns, its either Amish pins (which are 3" straight U pins), U pins (which are about 2.5" and easily found in the drugstore/Walmart), or Spin pins, depending on the bun, and how strong of a hold I need. When using U shaped pins, you need to pick up a piece of the bun, and then weave the pin into your scalp hair. With using bobby pins, you are probably not getting enough of either bun hair or scalp hair, or your hair just likes slipping out of them. For me, bobby pins can only take a tiny portion of my hair, and even then they like to slide backwards. Amish/spin pins are typically my go to, if I'm doing a bun and don't want to wear a visible hair toy.

LornaDoone
June 28th, 2011, 09:00 PM
I use Amish pins to anchor my buns and then use U pins for added security. I only use bobby pins when I want to pin back small amounts of hair away from my face.