PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with question/concern

PoliticalPilot
June 28th, 2011, 04:17 PM
I have been lurking for several days, but am finally a member! So excited to be here.
I am trying to grow my hair out (3rd time in my life). I am forgetting a lot of things though, from the last time I did it. My hair was short when my daughter was born, and it went to the post-partum shedding phase at the same time I was trying to grow it out.
My daughter is now 18 mos. old and so the PP shedding is done, but it is still shedding what seems to be a lot--but I don't remember if this is how it was last time my hair was long or not. :confused:
I wash about every 3 days and it sheds probably 100 hairs between washing/combing it out. On the days I don't wash, it sheds between 20 and 40 hairs I think. Does all that seem pretty normal?

Joribear
June 28th, 2011, 04:20 PM
Yep, sounds like you are perfectly in range of what is considered "normal" for shedding.

Good luck and happy growing! :)

Misti
June 28th, 2011, 04:22 PM
Keep in mind that as your hair gets longer, the hair *feels* like a lot more hair than it did, even when it's the same number. That freaked me out at first, too. :)

PoliticalPilot
June 30th, 2011, 08:43 AM
Thank you for your encouragement! I probably got at least 100 hairs between washing last night/combing it this morning. But it has also been up every day for the last four or five days--so I'm guessing it hasn't been able to shed as much?
It might take me a while to get used to this, I have to admit. 100 hairs at a time is pretty scary.

Anje
June 30th, 2011, 08:51 AM
That sounds pretty normal to me. You might find that different wash methods affect your shed rate, too. Shampoo encourages shedding for me, and I've heard other people say that conditioner on their scalps encourages shedding.

IanB
June 30th, 2011, 09:00 AM
Hi PoliticalPilot, hairloss of 100 per day is the norm - so no need to worry - which could cause more hair loss! :)

Roscata