View Full Version : Medication that influence your hair: a list.

Nymph
June 26th, 2011, 09:07 AM
I thought this might be interesting, I'm studying a course on dermatology and here are a list of medication that can have an effect on hair. The names are of the chemical substance, the brand name might differ based on your location so I didn't add it.

HAIR LOSS:

Almost all cytostatics (cancer medication)

Anti-coagulation medication:
- coumarines: fenprocoumon, warfarin
- heparines

Anti-cholesterol medication:
- clofibrate
- benzafibrate
- fenofibrate
- nicotinic acid

Medication against hyperthyroïdism
- carbimazol
- thiamazol
- sodium perchlorate
- iodide

Antihypertensive meds
- Beta blockers: propanol, nadolol, metoprolol
- ACE inhibitors: captopril, enalapril

Progestagenes (present in most oral contraceptives)
- Nerethisteron
- Levonorgestril
- Norgestrel
- Desogestrel
- Lynestrenol

Retonoïds
- Vitamine A
- Etretinate
- Acitretine
- Isotretinoïne

Heavy metals :rockerdud
- Thallium
- Arsene
- Lead

Anti-epileptics / mood stabilisators
- Carbamazepine
- Valproinic acid
- Lithium

Antidepressants
- Lormetazepam
- Imipramine

Other
- Levodopa
- Bromocriptine
- Amfetamines
- Allopurinol
- Paracetamol
- Piroxicam
- Salicylates (aspirine)
- Ibuprofen
- Gentamycine
- Thiamfenicol
- Nitrofurantoine
- Gold
- Bismuth
- Pyrimethamine
- Methysergide
- Halothane
- Boric acid
- Pyridostigmine bromide
- Cimetidine
- Ranitidine

Chemicals
- tetrathyl-lead
- Mercury
- Chloroprene
- Ethyl urethane
- Insecticides (DDT)
- desinfectants (sodium hypochloride)

Plants
- Gloriosa superba (colchicine)
- arbus precatorius

STRUCTURE AND COLOR CHANGES

Structural changes
- valproinic acid
- Etretinate
- Acitretine

Striped depigmentation
- chloroquine

Spotted depigmentation
- Mephenesin
- Haloperidol

Horizontal depigmentation
- methotrexaat

Greying
- bleomycine

IanB
June 26th, 2011, 09:15 AM
Crickey! Clear out the medicine chest then! :)

MsDarling
June 26th, 2011, 09:28 AM