PDA

View Full Version : Curly redhead with some burning questions!

rouquine25
June 25th, 2011, 09:15 PM
Hi! I joined this community awhile ago, but I never got around to posting (probably because I was intimidated by all you long-haired, beautiful hair experts! :scared: ) I've always had long hair. It's red, wavy/curly, medium thickness, and like most curlies, has the tendency to get pretty dry. I love hair, and I've always had a passion for it (Hence why I am now a cosmetology student! :D) But everyone has their own little routine for their hair, regardless of what the professionals say. But anyway, here are my questions! I'll try not to make this too long!

1. Should I stop using silicones in my conditioner? Or maybe only use them every once and awhile? I've read both sides of the issue, and I'm still not sure. (I already have limited my shampoo use, and my hair has benefited!)

2. Is not trimming your hair okay? I've seen the "non-trimmers" post, and it makes me feel good that I'm not the only one not trimming! I haven't trimmed my hair in over a year. I'm getting married next August, so would it be okay if I didn't trim until then? I do have split ends of course and slight "fairy tale" ends, but I don't really mind, because I'm worried that if I trim my hair it just won't grow as long again! Maybe I'm just paranoid???

3. Best conditioner for strict budget? I can't spend a lot of money on hair stuff because I have a lot of wedding things to take care of! But I've heard the cheapie Suave naturals don't have cones...are they any good? But it always just seems like no matter what I do my hair feels a bit coarse. Is this because I'm still using cones?

Thanks for reading! (Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place!)

gthlvrmx
June 25th, 2011, 09:46 PM
1. It depends on your hair, if it builds up quickly and if it really likes it. Try clarifying first to rid of any build up and use a cone free conditioner and see the results and compare with using cone.