PDA

View Full Version : a tale of heartbreak and lopped off hair - and a reintroduction!

archel
June 23rd, 2011, 05:46 PM
Hi, everyone! I used to be active on this forum in 2008 or so. I had waist length hair and you guys taught me how to take care of it and style it. I was really enjoying it, although it was a ton of work! Well, I went through a nasty breakup with my BF of three years and I chopped it off into a chin-length bob, which is what I do when I go through major life changes. Over the last couple of years I've kept it in a cute short cut that required a lot of blowing out and straightening, so the ends are fairly dry. However, the great thing is that I have grown out the color I have been using for FIFTEEN YEARS (or more, honestly) and my hair is virgin hair, grey strands and all! (Just turned 40.) I have a new and awesome boyfriend and things feel pretty stable in my life overall. Now I'm in the "I think I'll grow it for another 4-5 years" phase, only THIS time I have YOUR advice from the get go!

I am looking for advice on how to style my hair. I have it in a long flip length now and even in the front and back (finally). I just got a couple of claw clips and they work well. I learned how to do a sock bun yesterday and it REALLY makes me miss having that much hair for REAL! I am hoping I'm to APL by the end of the year.

I just switched to conditioner washing today, after clarifying my hair 2 days ago. I am going to try going cone free and see if this changes my hair type. I am thinking I am more wavy or even wurly than I thought and I had been weighing it down with tons of cones since I really like slip. So, we will see! I hope I don't go through a terrible adjustment. I am finding I like argan oil on my hair as much as my face!