PDA

View Full Version : New with Questions!

acmusic
June 16th, 2011, 01:57 PM
Hi I'm new to the "growing hair out" thing and I have a few questions! I have bra strap length hair that's pretty straight/kinda wavy when it dries naturally, though I haven't hair typed it yet.
I've been wondering:
Can you both grow your hair out to waist length and still get highlights in your hair?
What about layers? I have layers in my hair and I was just wondering if that still counts as growing my hair out even though I plan on keeping layers in my hair.
I condition - wash - condition every other day. Is that too much? How can I wash less without my hair getting so greasy?
Thank you!

Anje
June 16th, 2011, 02:08 PM
Can you both grow your hair out to waist length and still get highlights in your hair?
It really depends on how resilient your hair is to the lightening and how much lighter they take it. There are folks here who bleach their hair and continue to grow it, and others who find that highlighted hair breaks off. Giving the highlighted parts some extra protein/reconstructor treatments often helps them stay resilient, but bleaching will weaken the hair.

What about layers? I have layers in my hair and I was just wondering if that still counts as growing my hair out even though I plan on keeping layers in my hair.
Layers are OK. It's about doing what you want to with your hair. Some of us prefer no layers because it's easier to style and braid without having ends stick out, or because we want our hair to look as thick as possible at the ends, but that's all personal preference.

I condition - wash - condition every other day. Is that too much? How can I wash less without my hair getting so greasy?