PDA

View Full Version : Hepatitis B Vaccination and Alopecia

emma907
June 3rd, 2011, 01:29 PM
I have recently been diagnosed with (suspected) Alopecia Areata, I have a bald patch on my scalp about 1inch in diameter, I noticed this in Feb of this year.:(

I've been researching about Alopecia and hair loss and came across some research that says in some cases the Hep B vaccine has been known to trigger Alopecia. - I had the Hep B vaccine only weeks before my hair fell out

I was wondering in anyone here who has hair loss or Alopecia and also had a Hep B vaccine?:confused:

jojo
June 3rd, 2011, 03:10 PM
I have to vaccinated against hep B as I am a nurse but I have never had any issues with alopecia after having the jab.

skydancer7
June 3rd, 2011, 03:19 PM
Same here: also hep B vaccinated with no hair loss. But, everyone reacts differently, so I could see it being possible.

Anje
June 3rd, 2011, 03:31 PM
Can't say I had it either, when I got the vaccine. Then again, a lot of positive anecdotes don't mean that there isn't a connection.

CherrySilver
June 3rd, 2011, 03:38 PM
Question emma907: did the person who "diagnosed" the alopecia make any recommendations for treatment? Did you tell them about your Hep B vaccine?

The Hep B vaccine has been known to cause hair loss via an autoimmune response to the drug. A simple google search will turn up reams of information on this topic. Whoever "diagnosed" you should have at least taken the time to do some very simple background research.

Hence, getting treatment for this can be challenging and depends on the level or knowledge and experience of the "professional" you're dealing with. You can go the traditional (trichologist) or alternative (TCM, naturopathy, etc.) route with this. Below is a link to a naturopathic board I found which has a thread on treatment of hair loss (including a post from someone who had the Hep B vaccine):

http://abchomeopathy.com/forum2.php/1602/