PDA

View Full Version : Growing out a pixie cut ... (2011 thread)

animal-lover
May 30th, 2011, 01:01 AM
Hi guys!
I've been growing out a pixie cut for about four months now, and I absolutely detest the layers. There are about four layers altogether, with the top one (closest to the scalp) barely recognisable. The bottom two are very 'fluffy'.
My mum suggested I get my hair cut to the second top layer to thicken my hair out. See, I used to have amazing hair - so beautiful and thick. Now, due to the layers (I hope), it appears very thin and flimsy (well, according to me).

Also, does it look like it's grown?
The first photo was in late March (a month and a half after the cut) and the second photo was taken a few minutes ago (30 May).
I don't dye it, nor do I use any heat products at all. I also use Sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner.

FIRST PHOTO: http://www.flickr.com/photos/47317589@N05/5774610645/in/photostream

SECOND PHOTO:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/47317589@N05/5774610767/in/photostream/

What do you think? Honest opinions, thank you! :)

Cheeks1206
May 30th, 2011, 01:12 AM
It is a little difficult to see the difference in length in the pictures, but I do think it is a bit longer. I completely sympathize with you on growing out a pixie cut! It's been roughly 2 1/2 years since my last pixie cut; I never trimmed out the layers, I just let it grow for about 2 years. My hair is VERY curly when it's that short, so it kind of hid the layers. That what I told myself, anyway. I just did my first trim mid-March (vernal equinox) to start phasing out the awful pixie layers. Anyway, good luck on your growing journey! You'll have some awkward stages, but you can make it through them!

UltraBella
May 30th, 2011, 01:13 AM
My honest opinion, do not follow your mom's advice right now. Just let it continue growing out. After you have gained some significant length you can start trimming to slowly get rid of the bottom layers.