PDA

View Full Version : Any Nurses/Student Nurses??

vintage88
May 23rd, 2011, 08:00 AM
Hey everyone,
I'm a student Nurse who works long 13 hour shifts. I have a lot of trouble keeping my hair under control. I usually have it in a bun or pony tail, however I am constantly having to re-do my hair. I also get a lot of frizz which makes my hair look a mess no matter how much i comb or try to tame it. Someone once told me the lifts in the hospital cause static which makes hair frizzy so this could be why lol. But im finding it quite depressing as I seem to be the only person whos hair looks a complete mess :( and so far I haven't really see any other nurses with long hair either.

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice? I'm new here so any help would be much appreciated :)

xoerincolleen
May 23rd, 2011, 08:06 AM
Have you tried putting a little oil on it and then braiding it? You could do a braided bun, those are very secure. Or any sort of French or Dutch braid.
You could also try some sort of leave-in conditioner or anti-frizz product, although most of those have cones in them. I've used Tresemme anti-frizz creme with great results.
Good luck!

Crackaleen
May 23rd, 2011, 10:52 AM
I second using oil. The air in the hospital that I work at is very dry and static electricity is rampant. When I'm doing my hair before going to work in the morning, I often put a couple of drops of jojoba oil on my palms (not a lot, just enough so that there is a sheen of oil on my hands) and then smooth that down my length. Then my hair goes up into a protective style, these days it's usually a nautilus bun. I do generally end up redoing the bun at some point during the day. I've been known to wet my hands and run them over my hair if the halo of frizzies get really bad during the shift.

ladyfey
May 23rd, 2011, 12:09 PM
a braided bun with hairsticks (ketylos) or large claw clips holding it works well for me.

jojo
May 23rd, 2011, 12:32 PM