PDA

View Full Version : What are the pros and cons of having layered hair?

iluvmurphie
May 20th, 2011, 10:08 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new to LHC, and I love it here! I love to glean from all your knowledge! Anyway, I've recently started really paying attention to my hair and the way that I treat it. So far, I'm experimenting with different conditioners and CO'ing, and being careful with what I use to put it up (ie- not using elastics that could snag). Now, as I continue along my hair-growing journey, I was wondering what kind of "style" to keep my hair in. Right now my hair is at BSL, and I'm aiming for somewhere between waist and TBL. HOWEVER, my hair is layered right now, and I'm thinking that maybe I might want to have it all one length? (Or at least just have really long layers?) My layers are bugging me because when I want to try braids, it thins out so much at the end....I don't know. Sorry. I'm rambling.
What are the pros and cons, in your opinion of having layers?

HintOfMint
May 20th, 2011, 10:43 PM
Pros: It looks "done" when it's loose and if your hair is a bit wavy, it can bring out the waves and look like "cosmo-hair."

Cons: You have to deal with tapered braids and little spiky ends that stick out of updos.

BlueMuse
May 20th, 2011, 10:49 PM
Personally, I don't like blunt hemlines. I just prefer fairytale looking ends. But that's really a personal thing. My braids taper pretty hard, but it doesn't bother me.

iluvmurphie
May 20th, 2011, 10:53 PM
Thank you both for your replies.