PDA

View Full Version : First self trim tomorrow (

Rin4Christ
May 20th, 2011, 04:39 PM
Hi All, I'm a LHC newbie and lurker (I'm on once or twice a day, but mostly read). Its been about a year since I last got my hair cut (I think- I don't remember exactly) and I would like to save some money and do it myself. I plan to uses Feye's self trim method for a U shaped hem line. I had layers from last time my hair was cut, but I would like to trim them out eventually.

Picture below: (also my first time to post a pic of my hair on LHC)
http://i36.photobucket.com/albums/e4/Rin4Christ/0520111740-00.jpg
My hair is approaching waist length dry and is at waist length wet (waist marked by my my thumb and pointer fingers). In the picture it has bun waves, but even when drying naturally it has similar levels of waves. The picture was taken 30 min ago and current status is almost 3 days since last wash (Wednesday morning). I usually go 2-3 days between washes, then I do CWC and finish with ACV about once a week.

Questions: Is it better to trim damp or dry? Should it be freshly washed or is a couple of days ok? (will it make a difference) Any other advice for a first time self trimmer? Experience/disasters/triumphs to share?

Edit: my hair looks a different color past my shoulders, but that's mostly lighting. I have some natural red highlights, but not *that* much. My hair is not dyed. (It may be the red blanket that was on the table next to me when I took the picture reflecting the evening sunlight.)

Narya
May 20th, 2011, 04:47 PM
I'd say that wet is best, because that way you see the real length of the hair you're cutting and the waves won't mislead you. It also may depend on how much you want to trim: if it's a micro-trim it wouldn't matter as much because if you make a mistake it will be smaller, so it doesn't matter as much, and with wavy hair as you have small mistakes will be hardly seen (I know from experience!).