PDA

View Full Version : To trim or not to trim...

JessiBird89
May 17th, 2011, 08:07 PM
Hi all,

I'm a newbie so bear with me if I come across as completely clueless!
First I should give you my hair's recent history so you can understand my situation a bit better.

My natural hair colour is light brown and my hair is fine and quite thin. From October 2008 to February 2010 I had blonde highlights done a total of about 5 times, intermittedly. In February 2010 I decided I did not want to put my hair through such anguish (fine hair, bleached - you can imagine it wasn't in a healthy state! :() so I dyed my hair a semi-permanent mid-brown so I could focus on growing out the bleach.

I have been trimming and trimming every 2 months and I am finding it so frustrating that my ends a year and 3 months later still have bleach (beneath the now fading semi-permenent dye) My hairdresser told me to keep coming back every 10 weeks to get a trim to get rid of the damaged ends but it is driving me crazy! I feel like I'm taking a step back whenever i gain any length.

I'm at APL and my goal is waist. Should I just suck it up and get that 2 inches of damage off? Or just let it grow and prevent further damage. (I wash with sulphate free shampoo and natural conditioner, deep condition once a week and have recently started protein treatments and using coconut oil which I find is improving my hairs condition) Someone please help! Thank you

PamelaViktoria
May 17th, 2011, 08:38 PM
I highlight my hair so parts of it can get dry. But I cut my own hair, so I have more control how much comes off. If it got really dry, I would layer it but keep the length. Could you do that?

JessiBird89
May 17th, 2011, 08:51 PM
Well, I already have a layer that is growing out at the minute, but it's my longest layer that is the problem - the slightly shorter one is actually quite healthy. Would an S+D do anything to help the dryness and breakage of my ends do you think?

chelshireling
May 17th, 2011, 08:58 PM