PDA

View Full Version : Dry ends, but no splits

maborosi
May 15th, 2011, 07:44 PM
I did a trim today, because I haven't done one in probably close to two months. I didn't find any split ends, but my ends are quite dry, and tend to tangle up. Why is this, and what can I do about it? I'd really rather not have to hack off almost an inch of hair if I can avoid it, but my ends do look kind of limp compared to the rest of my hair- maybe I over-condition it? If anyone else has found a solution to this, I'd love to hear, because it's really annoying

~maborosi~

krissykins
May 15th, 2011, 07:47 PM
Is it possible that your ends need to be clarified? It could be some type of buildup. It's worth a shot :flower:

maborosi
May 15th, 2011, 07:48 PM
Is it possible that your ends need to be clarified? It could be some type of buildup. It's worth a shot :flower:

I've never used a clarifying shampoo before, and so I don't really know which one is good, or how/how often to use it, lol. My biggest worry is that it'll strip the color out of my hair, because someone once told me it would do that...is that true or were they wrong?

Thanks!

~maborosi~

gthlvrmx
May 15th, 2011, 07:51 PM
You could do a strand test after it's wet and see if it's over moisturized or too much protein. Just take a shed hair and see, it might be build up. That's how it was with me, i had no splits and the ends were "dry". They felt hard. I clarified and conditioned and it solved everything :D

When you pull the strand, if it breaks without stretching, too much protein. If it stretches and stretches before going back and breaking, too much moisture. If it stretches and bounces back before breaking, it's fine.
Build up usually causes these types of ends, all "dry" and tangly even with all the stuff you use to try and help it.
If you use too much conditioner, it leads up to build up (moisture).

gthlvrmx
May 15th, 2011, 07:53 PM
I agree with her! She helped me with this same problem last time i asked!